Recently, WhatsApp has updated its policy terms, which let the user in confusion whether to continue or abandon the service. The Company in view of this extended the deadline for another 3 months falling from 8 Feb 2021. The new deadline is May 15 as of now.
The company tried a lot in making people understand what they actually mean by updating their policy terms. WhatsApp said its planned privacy update had created confusion among some of its users. “We’ve heard from so many people how much confusion there is around our recent update. There’s been a lot of misinformation causing concern and we want to help everyone understand our principles and the facts,” it wrote in a blog post last month. Now, the company quoted the things that will take place IF USERS DIDN'T AGREE to the new policy terms.
"To give you enough time to review changes at your own pace and convenience, we’ve extended the effective date to May 15th. If you haven’t accepted by then, WhatsApp will not delete your account. However, you won't have the full functionality of WhatsApp until you accept. For a short time, you'll be able to receive calls and notifications, but won't be able to read or send messages from the app." from WhatsApp's official blog.
In this statement, the short time is still not clear. i.e. what is the exact time frame of this short time? Though as per WhatsApp policy if an account is inactive for more than 120 days the account gets deleted automatically. This "short time" would be few weeks or a month as per my understanding, because it is mentioned that the account won't be deleted.
In an email reviewed by Tech Crunch, it is mentioned that WhatsApp will “slowly ask” such users to comply with the new terms “in order to have full functionality of WhatsApp” starting May 15.